To Grandmother’s House We Go

My Grandma Rose has been fanatical about design for as long as I can remember and surely for much longer.  Just yesterday she told me a story about winning a window decorating contest at a local shop when she was only 17.  Her zest for life and passion for design have truly been an inspiration to me and I had to share with you some of what she’s done in her home.

Her master bedroom is so quaint and charming – I absolutely adore the bed!  And the little chair she has in the corner is lovely, especially next to the distressed hutch which is one of my favorite pieces in her whole house.   She does everything on a budget and even though I’m as much of a bargain shopper as she is,  every time I buy a new piece of furniture she insists, “you paid too much!”

It really is amazing how she blends everything together on a shoestring budget.  Like in the girls guestroom where her youngest granddaughters and great-granddaughters stay when they visit, she has blended old and new to give the feeling of soft femininity, but I know for a fact she only paid $200 for the dresser because I was with her when she bought it!  Isn’t it perfect for a little girls room?

In another spare bedroom, she went with a more masculine approach yet the denim comforter looks beautiful against the bright pops of red, white and blue.  The room feels very Ralph Lauren without the Ralph Lauren prices.  And she’s contemplating painting the walls a bluish gray which I think would really compliment the space.

Thanks Grammy Rose for letting me take pictures in your gorgeous home!  Love you!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 14:44:19

    Yo girl – this is cool! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

