Making a Case for Wallpaper

The jury is in.  Wallpaper is back and as far as I can tell it’s not going away anytime soon.  I’ve been debating about using it on the back wall of my bedroom to add a little dimension to the space, but something has been holding me back.  That something is the distant memory of trying to remove decades old wallpaper from my husband’s first home with blood (from the many razor induced cuts), sweat (it was mid-summer and the A/C was out), tears (manual labor+heat+frustration=sobbing) and many, many cases of beer (hardly a bright spot in the darkness that is wallpaper removal).

But wallpaper can look so good!  The depth, the drama, the space defining texture…

Images from Livingetc., Project Nursery, House to Home

But that doesn’t change the fact that it’s not cheap, easy to remove, or often relevant in a few years time.  Luckily there are a couple of options out there for those of us who want the look but not the hassle.

Sherwin-Williams now has a line of wallpaper called Easychange that just like it sounds is as easy to install as it is to remove.  And the options are literally endless!  A few of my favorites are:

Another alternative to traditional wallpaper with a similar look is stenciling.  I’m not convinced this will look as polished as wallpaper, even if an imperfect pattern ‘tricks the eye’ as Cutting Edge Stencils promises, plus it just sounds tedious and time consuming, but is an affordable yet punchy option.

I’ll let you be the judge on this one!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 18:47:02

    I say go for it! I loved, loved, loved the room I grew up in covered in girly, pink-bowed wallpaper. I debate wallpapering my daughter’s room myself. You first 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kristi Burgess
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 08:30:47

    My mother paid someone to wall paper our foyer in the late 80’s and the guy hung it all upside down. He thought the trees look better that way. My mom tried to get her money back but the guy said he was having a nervous breakdown. So we lived with upside wall paper. Weird but true.

    Reply

  3. interiorswithandy
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 13:20:30

    I am thinking if someone hung wallpaper of trees upside down, maybe he really was having a nervous breakdown?? Sounds like an episode of HGTV’s Designed to Sell, no?

    Reply

  4. Jessica Marin
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 15:57:14

    I love wallpaper… as an accent wall in a bedroom, or in a dark glamourous dining room… and especially in a small guest bathroom. A secret I learned from HGTV a long time ago is fill a spray bottle with 3/4 water and 1/4 liquid fabric softener. It takes the stick off old wallpaper when you spray it on and makes for much easier removal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

