Bringing the Inside Out

When we bought our house, it needed a lot of work, both inside and out.  We spent our time and energy (and most of our money) on fixing up the interior, but now that spring has sprung (we’re in Florida afterall!) our yard and front porch are looking pretty sad.  Since we really don’t have the budget for the black rocking chairs I’ve been eying, I wanted to come up with an inexpensive way to dress up the front porch and then I remembered the booth from kitchen! Marshall thought it was ‘too country’, so we dragged it into the garage and it’s been collecting dust ever since…

I thought it was kind of cute in the kitchen, plus I spent a lot of time picking out the fabrics for it and refinishing it, so I hated to see it relegated to the garage.  I especially love the Waverly Lattice fabric against the neutral linen cushion.

So I begged Marshall to help me drag it outside.  At first I wasn’t sure, but I wound up really liking it.  It adds a little color, especially with a couple of pillows and a jute rug I could never find a place for inside.

It’s completely covered by our porch, so I don’t have to worry about it getting wet when it rains and now we have a place to sit and have a cup of coffee in the morning or a glass of wine at night.  It might not be the perfect solution, but it works until we have the budget for outdoor furniture!

Leave a Reply

