Finding Your Inspiration

Inspiration is everywhere. From a single flower to a beautiful vista to a beloved pet, inspiration for a room, a house or a design can come from anywhere. So many things inspire what I do and one of the most important influences on the way I design my own home is my dogs!

There are few things I love more in this world than dogs.  They bring joy to my life and a smile to my face.  That’s why I always use them as inspiration for any space in my home.  They are a part of my family and I would never buy a sofa or a bedspread if I didn’t think it would stand up to their little paws!

Something else that truly inspires me is nature.

I have to spend a little bit of time outside every single day or I’ll go crazy.  Whether it’s walking my dogs around a nearby lake or taking a quick run to get the day started, I don’t feel like myself if I haven’t spent time outside.  My love of nature inspired a tree I painted on an old window and it’s the reason I insisted on buying a home on a wooded lot.  You can see the painted tree project on my portfolio page or on a previous post.

The person who inspires me most is my husband!

He is a very creative, artistic guy who has pretty strong opinions when it comes to the way I design our home, so I always consult him before I make any permanent changes to a space.  Well, maybe not always, but he is a big factor in deciding how I’m going to approach a new design.  And he was the inspiration for going into design and blogging about design in the first place.  I saw how much he loved what he was doing every single day and it inspired me to go after my dreams, too.  Thank you for that Husband!

We all have to grab inspiration when we find it. Hold on and don’t let go!

Leave a Reply

