Pillowlust

Pillowlust is the uncontrollable urge to buy so many pillows that you decide to create your own pillow line.

It all started with some leftover fabric from my booth project.  And yes, it’s the same pattern I have on my blog and website because I love it that much!

I had a couple of extra yards, so I approached my local tailor about making me a few pillows.  The cost of her services was more expensive than buying a Calvin Klein pillow at Bloomie’s, so I scratched that idea.  That’s when I started thinking about who I could find to make me a few pillows for a reasonable price.  I’ve been working as a recruiter for three years now, so I figured I would just post for the position of ‘seamstress’ like I do for any other role and it worked!  A few days later I had my samples.

I knew the hard part was going to be finding retailers who were willing to carry my product, so I decided to start with a lovely shop in my own neighborhood, Annabelle Hart.  I was in sales for years before I started recruiting so I figured it would be no problem, but I learned very quickly selling something you designed is a lot more nerve wracking than selling something someone else created and I was feeling some serious…

Luckily the owner, Shirley, was working when I came in.  The first thing she said was, “You look like you’re on a mission.”  I laughed, admitted I was on a mission and then spent the most wonderful hour with a woman who has a wealth of knowledge about the retail industry and was kind enough to share some of it with me.  One of the most important things I learned in my past sales experience was, “Don’t forget to ask for the sale!” so as our conversation was wrapping up I asked if she would carry my sample pillow and any others I designed that she thought would fit in with her store…and she said YES!

That one yes gave me the confidence to actually start the line.  There are a lot of steps in the process, but I am overjoyed to take them.  Maybe one day I will get that store of my own, but in the meantime I’m swimming in a sea of Pillowlust!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristi Burgess
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 20:42:41

    Congrats! That is awesome!

    Reply

  2. Kristen Smith
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 19:36:35

    Congratulations! We need a custom made pillow – perhaps we could hire you? I need a bench cushion 42″ x 15″ x 3″ and can’t find one anywhere. I’ve just spent the last hour looking online and gave up and decided to check out your blog – guess we both have pillows on the mind. We have so many projects going on I didn’t want to jump into another one of making it myself and the custom ones on etsy are expensive…

    Hope you and Marsh are doing well.
    K+T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

