A Country Cottage in Maine

My husband is from Maine and this summer we decided to rent a little cottage near where he grew up.  I love the shingled exterior and all the outdoor living space.

From the painted staircase (which I’ve thought about doing in my own home)

To the cast iron stove

And the charming country kitchen

No detail has been overlooked.  As I write, I’m curled up in the cozy sitting room

And already thinking about coming back next year

It’s so quiet I can hear the silence buzzing in my ears!  Not exactly the sounds of downtown Orlando and Midtown Atlanta where we’ve lived the past few years. This morning we even kayaked around a beautiful lake where Marshall’s family lives, something I never thought I’d do right before going to work!

I could use some tips on repelling bugs though – this city girl is just not used to the creepy crawlies of the Maine countryside!

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 12:08:46

    Beautiful! I’m so jealous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

