Walk-in Closet+Imagination=Bedroom?

So I never thought my master bedroom would be the size of a closet…or an actual closet for that matter.  But now it is both.  Here is how I took a walk-in closet in our studio apartment and made it into our master bedroom.

First, I tried to envision the space as more than a closet (and had my husband take down the clothing rod).

Next I took some of my favorite pieces and used them to fill the white space.  The rustic ladder for example.  I wasn’t sure why I was bringing it to San Francisco when it was collecting dust in my garage in Florida, but it turned out to be a great way to punch up a white wall and add some soft candlelight.


Then I filled an empty corner with a beat up old table, one of my favorite flea market finds.  I added an antique styled fan on the corner table which drowns out the city noise at night.  Even though it’s an awkward angle, this photo gives a bit of perspective on how everything comes together in the space.

I added my beloved horse painting above the bed, a pair of white drapes that were once the shower curtains in my master bath, and a floor lamp beside the bed, perfect for reading at night.


Because of the angle of the door to the ‘closet’, it’s hard to capture the warmth of the space.  It’s definitely cozy, but I think I’ve slept better here over the last few nights than I have in months!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 18:32:50

    Looks SO cute! Love those pics!!! 🙂 I want MORE photos of the rest of the place and where did you put your clothes???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

