Starlight, Starbright My Pendant Light is Finally Complete!

Do you remember my post from a couple of weeks ago about creating a drum light to cover the apartment grade bulb in the ceiling light?  It didn’t exactly scream sweet, playful nursery…

So when I saw this sweet light

It inspired me to make a light of my own, minus the dangling butterflies and plus a retro modern geometric pattern

However hanging the light was becoming a problem because the shade didn’t quite work with any of the hanging hardware I found, until I came across this nifty little light bulb clip

Which means I actually clipped the drum shade directly on to the light bulb, which would not normally work because you would be able to see that the drum was not surrounding the light, but hanging from it.  But lucky for me the room, being a closet, is the size of, well, a closet, and from no angle can you tell that the lamp shade is clipped to and actually hanging from the light bulb.  Part jimmy-rigged hoe down.  Part genius.  And with that I thought I was done.

But then as I was writing this post, ding dong came the delivery guy and inside the box was an Etsy rubber duck inspired mobile I ordered last week.

And it was one of the cutest things I have ever laid eyes on.  Which brought me back to the dangling butterflies from the inspiration photo.  And with that a rubber ducky dangling, Waverly ensconced, ten dollar lamp shade is now the shining light of our nursery.

Which means I’ll have to buy another mobile for the little one, who after meeting with our Placement Coordinator yesterday, could be here as soon as next week!!

And so we are waiting with breath that is bated and a phone under the pillow, just in case. 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 06:19:20

    Loved the new light shade and the hanging ducky mobile. It must add some loving atmosphere to the baby’s room!
    Hugs M______

    Reply

Leave a Reply

